Our History

The earliest recorded camp programs operated by the Salvation Army were conducted in England in 1898 for underprivileged children in the city streets who were given a day in the country.  As time went on, camps were organized, extending the outing to a week or ten days. The experience grew to North America.  The intent was to nurture the children in mind, body and soul. 

Camp Starrigan which was established in 1979.  It was headed by Mr. Chaytor in the early 1980's.  The Auditorium was completed in the mid early 1980's after land disputes between the Salvation Army and Macolm Brown.  

Twin Ponds camp was formed in 1988 with the help from Mr. Snelgrove.  The site was bought from the goverment and facilities were taken from Norris Arm and relocated to the Twin Ponds site.  The overall vision of this site was an all encompasing Salvation Army Camp for Newfoundland.